Gene Easter Award

The Gene Easter Award is given annually by the Akron Section to recognize an outstanding high school chemistry teacher who combines innovative and relevant methods of presenting chemistry subjects in order to illustrate the importance of chemistry in our everyday lives. The award was established in 1995 and was presented to its namesake, Mr. Gene Easter of Streetsboro High School. The award consists of a small individual plaque that is retained by the awardee, a larger traveling plaque that is displayed at the awardee's schools for one year, and a $250.00 honorarium.

Nominees are high school (public, private, or parochial) chemistry teachers who reside in the geographical area of the Akron Section. Nominations are submitted by a principal or department head and must be seconded by a peer. Nomination criteria are analogous with the regional teaching awards.

Past Awardees:

2018-Sharron Kaffen-NIHF STEM High School
2017- Mitch Lambert-Theodore Roosevelt High School
2016 - Dean Kinkoph, Stow-Munroe Falls High School
2015 - William Alkire, North High School
2014 - Karen Rummell, Garfield High School
2013 - Joseph DeAngelis, Ellet High School
2012 - Fonda Morgan, Perry High School (Massillon)
2011 - Heidi Gauntner, Hudson High School
2010 - Sandra McClain, Manchester High School
2009 - Diana Williams, Firestone High School
2008 - Connie Hubbard, Hoover High School
2007 - Bruce Lautzenheiser, Jackson High School
2006 - Brother Ed Libbers, Archbishop Hoban High School
2004 - Terry Sappenfield, Firestone High School
2000 - William Noice, Hudson High School
1999 - Brian Rohrig, Aurora High School
1998 - Paul Hobe, Hoover High School
1997 - Melanie Stewart, Stow-Monroe Falls High Schools
1996 - Gene Easter, Streetsboro High School

Copyright©2015, The Akron Section of The American Chemical Society