November Akron ACS Award Meeting

(posted on Wednesday, October 9, 2019)

November 1, 2019 Akron Section ACS meeting American Chemical Society Akron Section Award

The Akron Section of the ACS is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2019 Akron Section Award, Dr. Yiying Wu, Professor of Chemistry, The Ohio State University. Dr. Wu will present two lectures.

The afternoon lecture will be held at The University of Akron, Mary Gladwin Hall, Room 111 at  11 AM.

The evening program and lecture will take place at Hiram College, Kennedy Center Ballroom. 

Poster Session/Networking: 5:30 PM

Dinner: 6:30 PM

Program: 7:15 PM

Price is $25 for professionals and $10 for students; Dinner reservations can be made to Charles Kausch by Noon, Friday, October 25. The lectures are free and open to the public.

  Afternoon Lecture:  Materials Chemistry for K-O2 Battery and Solar Fuels

Yiying Wu
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, The Ohio State University

My group has been working at the interface of synthetic molecular/solid state chemistry and (photo)electrochemistry to address challenges in energy conversion and storage. The invention of K-O2 battery represents a highlight. We recognized the potential of superoxide chemistry in addressing the sluggish kinetics of oxygen redox. The one-electron K-O2 battery has elegantly solved the kinetic challenge in oxygen reduction and evolution without using electrocatalysts. I will review our recent progresses that involve oxygen chemistry, electrolyte designs, interphase controls and solid state ionics. P-type dye-sensitized solar fuels represent another direction we have been pursuing. A notable example is a biomembrane-inspired design of light-harvesting dye molecules that enable the first stable p-type photoelectrochemical cell in harsh conditions. We have systematically investigated the fundamental charge transport and transfer processes at the p-semiconductor/dye/electrolyte interfaces and demonstrated their applications for solar-driven hydrogen generation and reduction of oxygen into hydrogen peroxide.


Evening Lecture:  K-Air Battery for Large-Scale Energy Storage

Yiying Wu
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, The Ohio State University

Due to the lack of adequate energy storage, the current electricity infrastructure faces the daunting task of continually balancing electrical supply with demand and has to support peak load levels. Therefore, developing low-cost and high-performance batteries is vital for electricity grid leveling and regulating the energy output of intermittent solar and wind energy. In this talk, I will discuss the existing battery chemistry for large-scale grid energy storage. Especially, I will tell a story on how my teaching of general chemistry inspired the idea of the K-air battery. It adopts a unique single-electron oxygen redox strategy that provides an elegant solution to the long-lasting kinetic challenge in metal-oxygen batteries without using any electrocatalysts. Moreover, potassium has advantages in abundance (1.5 wt % in Earth’s crust vs. 0.0017 wt% for Li) and fast K+ ion transport kinetics in electrolyte. Therefore, K-air Battery has the great potential of providing a more cost-effective, energy-efficient, non-toxic solution than other existing battery technologies


Yiying Wu received his B.S. in chemical physics from the University of Science and Technology of China in 1998, and his Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of California at Berkeley in 2003 with Prof. Peidong Yang. He then did his postdoctoral research with Prof. Galen D. Stucky at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and joined the chemistry faculty at The Ohio State University in the summer of 2005. He was promoted to associate professor with tenure in 2011 and to full professor in 2014. Since 2017, he has been appointed as the Leet Endowed Chair. He has been serving as an associate editor for ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces since 2013. His group focuses on materials chemistry and interface synthesis for energy conversion and storage. He is the inventor of the one-electron K-O2 battery and pioneered solar batteries that integrate solar harvesting with energy storage. He received Cottrell Scholar Award in 2008, NSF CAREER Award in 2010, CAPA Biomatik Distinguished Faculty Award in 2014, Franklin County Commissioner’s Award in 2014, Midwest Energy News “40 under 40” in 2015, and Nano Research Top Paper Award in 2019. His invention of K-air battery received DOE Clean Energy Prize in 2014.

Copyright©2015, The Akron Section of The American Chemical Society